Brookwood High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
National Math Honor Society/Mu Alpha Theta (Mr. Dimsdale, Ms. Phillips) » National Math Honor Society

National Math Honor Society

 Mu Alpha Theta, the National High School and Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society, was formed in 1957 at the University of Oklahoma. We are dedicated to inspiring a keen interest in mathematics, developing strong scholarship in the subject, and promoting the enjoyment of mathematics in high school and two-year college students. Currently, more than 124,000 students are Mu Alpha Theta members at more than 2,633 schools in the United States and in 23 foreign countries.

Mu Alpha Theta:

  • Provides a method for schools to recognize and encourage students who enjoy and excel in mathematics.
  • Organizes a national convention for students and teachers to participate in math-related events and interact with others from across the country.
  • Rewards outstanding extracurricular achievement by offering special awards, scholarships, and grants to students and their faculty advisers.
  • Provides mathematics competitions to participating members at their own school through the Log1 Contest, Rocket City Math League and the Mathematical Minutes Video Contest.


Students with a 90 or above cumulative math average are eligible to join Mu Alpha Theta.   The club meets one Monday per month.  Watch the school announcements for specific meeting dates.   

Dues are $15 and can be paid on

Faculty Sponsors:  Mr. David Dimsdale, Mrs. Lisa Phillips